Using evalglare for HDR images

Hi,
I just started learning HDR images and using evalglare command. There are some questions:

1. I got a few HDR images from others. The header of the HDR images is as follow.

微信截图_20200301214452
But when i use evalglare, is shows " header contains invalid exposure entry!!! check exposure and correct header “. How to solve this problem?
2) I find “VIEW= -vtv -vh 132.979172 -vv 113.747666” in the header.
When i use evlaglare command to get DGP, should i input “-vtv -vh 180 -vv 180” or "-vtv -vh 132.979172 -vv 113.747666 "?
3) If I want to use a fisheye lens to obtain an LDR image and generate HDR images, and finally use the Evalglare command for glare analysis, what should i do? Do you have a tutorial?

Best, Jing

Hi Jing,

Evalglare is very protective to make sure that the luminance values are correct. In this case, your circular mask and vignetting functions indent the previous exposure values as a comment, and evalglare rejects the image type as a result.

What you can do in this case is to open the HDR in a nice text editor (such as Notepad++) and delete all of the tabbed-in lines from the header. Save the result, and verify that the luminance values are correct in an external viewer program (HDRscope, wxFalsecolor, Photosphere on Windows). Then evalglare should work.

If the image is a fisheye, use evalglare -vta -vh 180 -vv 180.
(note: I accidentally put down -vtv before. Your image is most likely an angular fisheye (vta).)

Clotilde Pierson just published a very nice tutorial in Leukos. You should check it out! Our conference papers on HDR accuracy might be helpful supplemental reading.

BR,
Alstan

2 Likes

Hi Jing,

I could see two posts on the same topic, so I answer/add one topic here: