The means and functions of inputs for rtrace

Hi everyone,

I am new to Radiance and I have been learning the rtrace command recently. Based on the introduction of radiance_tutorial.pdf and manual pages, for the input of rtrace, the first 3 inputs are the coordinates of the measurement points. But I am confused about the last 3 inputs. What’s the function of the direction vector? Can someone please help to explain?

> xorg yorg zorg xdir ydir zdir

Cheers,

Hao

The first 3 coordinates are the origin of the sample ray, and the second three define the direction of the ray as a vector. The length of this vector, i.e., sqrt(xdir^2 + ydir^2 + zdir^2), is ignored by rtrace unless the -ld+ option is specified.

For example, a ray starting from the point (1,3,9) and directed at the zenith (+Z direction) would be given as:

1 3 9 0 0 1

Giving this to rtrace, it follows the ray to see what part of the scene it intersects, then (by default) computes the color of that point and returns it as an RGB triplet.

I hope this helps!
-Greg

1 Like

Hi Greg,

Wow~ Your reply is so clear. Now I thought I understood the means and functions of inputs of rtrace. Thanks so much for your assistance. I appreciate it.

Best regards,

Hao

Hi Greg,

Sorry to bother you again. As I get to know Radiance, I have a few more questions about the direction setting as the input for rtrace( the second three defining the direction of the ray as a vector) when option -I is used, as follows:

1)Can the value of direction only be set to 0, 1 or -1?
2) If the direction value of all rays for the working plane is set to 0 0 1, does it mean that only the lighting source above the working plane is considered? Besides, in this case, does it still consider the reflection from other surfaces (if -ab of retrace is more than 1)?
3) If the direction value of all rays for the working plane is set to 0 0 -1, does it mean that only the lighting source below the working plane is considered?