Reading rtrace binary file

Hello I am new to radiance and appreciate your help.
I am trying to rtrace with many points (I need the power and distance of almost all possible paths). Because output files get very large I opted for the binary output.
When I read the binary file I first read it as uint8, and at the beginning of each row I am counting the numbers of reflections by counting how many bytes have a value of 9 (ascii for tab).
After the tab I typecast the rest of the row to single precision values.
my problem: This logic seem to work fine on small files but on large files the chance of a single precision number to to start with a byte with value = 9 is not negligible, and my code fails.
is there an option to change the ‘Tab’ separator with a “nan” float value or any value which can not be misinterpreted. Any other idea is of course more than welcome.
Gratefully,
Dan

Example rtrace command:
’ /Users/dannussinson/MPI-SIM/OptiCore/+radMat/rtrace -n 1 -lw 1.000000e-02 -x 1000 -y 1000 -ad 100 -av 0.0 0.0 0.0 -o~tVp -h -faf -ab 1 -dj 0 -aa 0.000000 -as 0 radfiles/testWithWall_tmp.oct <radfiles/testWithWall_tmp.pts >/tmp/DATMPI_test.bin ’

Hi Dan,

Seems like you are “diving into the deep end” on this. I would recommend using an output option like -o~~t~Vp, so you get two tildes followed by tabs as a ray tree terminator, and however many tabs followed by a tilde and a tab before your floating-point ray branches. Whether a tilde-tab sequence will ever be found in a 32-bit float is an open question. I remember I used three tildes in rtcontrib before it was rewritten, just to make sure confusion would be very unlikely, but they start to add up…

-Greg

Hi Greg,
Thank you so much for the prompt reply.
I didn’t realize I can concatenate ‘~’.
I believe this can solve my problem or at-least make it very improbable.
Still, wouldn’t a cleaner solution be using NaN with the same precision as the output?