Radiance_tutoral question

Hey everyone,

I am new to Radiance. I am following the tutorial material: radiance_tutorial, subsection 2.2.3 More Complex Scenes, page 15. For step 4, I add the command “! genbox glazing_mat glass 4 0 3” in room.rad file, and when I run “objline room.rad | x11meta”, it shows that
Usage: genbox material name xsize ysize zsize [-i] [-b bevel | -r round [-n nsegs][-s]] [-o]
xform: (! genbox glazing_mat glass 4 0 3): warning - empty file

how should I deal with this warning, like in the same folder to create a glazing.mat file?

Cheers,
Hao

Hi Hao,

could you post your room.rad file, please

Thank you
Axel

your “box” has a 0 value in the y-dimension, that causes the problem. A box needs positive values in all dimensions. Do you want to generate a surface rather than a box? If so, then use the command gensurf instead.

Hi Jan,

Thank you so much for your reply. You are right, it is the 0 value in the y-dimension that causes the problem.

I am following the tutorial material which has not introduced the gensurf command yet. So, if I want to generate a pane of glass and place it on the wall, I use the “genbox glazing_mat glass 4 0.01 2” to generate a glass which y-dimension is small and use “xform -t 0 0 1” to place it on the wall. The code is as following:

genbox wall_mat room 4 5 3

wall_mat polygon room.1540
4 0 0
4 0 1
0 0 1
0 0 0

wall_mat polygon room.4620
0 0 3
0 5 3
0 5 0
0 0 0

floor_mat polygon room.2310
0 5 0
4 5 0
4 0 0
0 0 0

wall_mat polygon room.3267
4 5 0
0 5 0
0 5 3
4 5 3

wall_mat polygon room.5137
4 0 3
4 0 0
4 5 0
4 5 3

ceilling polygon room.6457
0 5 3
0 0 3
4 0 3
4 5 3

!genbox glazing_mat glass 4 0.01 2 | xform -t 0 0 1

Hi Axel,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Please see my reply to Jan where I posted the room.rad file.

Thanks again for your help.

Hao

Hi Hao, the little exercise in Section 2.2.3 is actually meant to be done by editing the room.rad text file:

a) run
$ genbox wall_mat room 4 5 3 > objects/room.rad