Radiance install on Mac OS X (Jaguar)

I am currently trying to install Radiance in XDarwin on a Macintosh running Mac OSX 10.2. I am completely new to UNIX, so my question may be simplistic. Please bare with me. If this question is inappropriate, then please let me know, and I will not fill your inboxes.

I read Greg Ward's response to Galen Burrell, and tried following the direction.

When I try running the ./makeall install script, I always come up with errors.
When I try copying the files manually, I also run into problems

I'm trying to install into /usr/local/radiance

With the cp -rp lib /usr/local/radiance/lib/ray command, I get a message saying that the file is identical.
With the cp -p src/*.cal /usr/local/radiance/lib/ray command, I get a message saying that there was no match.

I'm sure it's my ignorance that's causing the problem.

Again, I'm a complete newbie, so I really don't know what I'm doing, but am willing to learn and experiment.

Can you point me to a resource that will help me understand the install process? I understand that my question is really remedial, but I know I'll understand better the installation process under UNIX through this task of having to install Radiance.

Thanks in advance for your time and patience.

John An

hi, i m pillo
and i am using radiance on a ibook.... (with osx..) (and on dual athlon linux box...)
i m not a beginner, but not so more...
what you can do (IF you are a mac user like me, with little unix knowledge):

(ELSE wait for BETTER ANSWER...)

0)log on your system with root permissions (watch out! you are root... )

1) install xdarwin (it seems you did already, anyway you can get it from http://mrcla.com/XonX/)

2)get tinkertool to view hidden files (so you can use aqua GUI to move and copy files ;-))))) (get it from http://www.bresink.de/osx/TinkerTool2.html)