Radiance colorpict and perforate.cal

I am studying workflows within Radiance to simulate frit patterns for visual comfort assessments and need help with two Raidance commands. I have been chipping away at getting these answered on various forums and finally found my way to the Radiance Discourses site.
With the help of @mostapha, I have found that colorpict with the picture.cal function allows me to map an image onto a surface (the image acting as a frit pattern). Additionally, there is the mixfunc command with the perforate.cal function, which creates a repeating pattern across a surface - good for uniform dot frit patterns. However, I am looking for a little more clarification on these commands Here are my two remaining questions:

• What other commands exist beside -s that can dimension the perforate.cal pattern? Is it possible to set the distance between objects separately from the object size?

• What is the relationship between RGB value in the colorpict and picture.cal commands and the transmissivity? It appears that the RGB value that I set in my image file determines the visible transmittance. I performed a simple box study with windows mapped with solid fills at three different RGB values (black, grey, white) and found a somewhat linear relationship between transmittance and RGB value. The RGB values are black (0,0,0), grey (155,155,155), and white (255,255,255) for the image files used with the colorpict + picture.cal function.

Thanks in advance for your help and insight.

It is difficult to answer your question without seeing your Radiance scene files, especially the way you are using the mixfunc primitive. My guess at your questions is that no, there is no way to move your holes around with a command and yes, the color is affecting your transmission. To move the holes, without affecting their size, you would need to generate new images.

Greg,