Making HDR image from XYZ data

Hi,

I’m new to this Radiance forum.

I have a question about a radiance system to generate HDR image.
Now, I use a system that can obtain XYZ data (Y is cd/㎡) from photographs taken with different exposures in real room. I am trying to create an HDR image from this data using the pvalue of radiance command. The commands I use are the following;
$ pvalue -r -h -pXYZ -y 3840 +x 3840 X.csv Y.csv Z.csv > output.hdr

However, compared to the actual image using Adobe Photoshop, I feel that the shape is similar but the color is incorrect. Actual photographs cannot be attached due to various reasons.

I would appreciate if you could tell me if any options are missing.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Yusuke – welcome to the Radiance forum!

I think you are missing a “-d” option that you need for your pvalue command to work properly. Assuming your csv files contain color data but no commas, the following should work:

pvalue -r -h -d -pXYZ -y 3840 +x 3840 X.csv Y.csv Z.csv > output.hdr

If you send the top of each *.csv file, I can make sure it is in the expected format.
Then, your output file should be of the special format “32-bit_rle_xyze”, which not all programs fully support. To convert to a more standard “32-bit_rle_rgbe” you can use:

ra_xyze -r output.hdr outputrgb.hdr

Oddly enough, my version of Photoshop (CS 6) seems to understand the XYZ file just fine. I hope they didn’t break this in their more recent version…

Hi Greg

Thank you for your reply immediately.

It worked fine by using the -d option.
Thank you for telling my missing.
Also, I can see the xyze format using Photoshop.

However, in the 32-bit format, it was overexposed. So I changed from 32-bit to 16-bit using photoshop. As a result, I was able to output successfully. I think this is because the camera using is recording in 12-bits.