Luminance wrong read out after calibration in matlab

Hi all,

(Appreciate all, especially the founders and maintainers of this fourm/mail list. I feel like being saved when I come here, because I was stucked for a long time when I doing my dissertation.)

When I use Matlab command ‘hdrread(*.hdr)’ to import a calibrated image (by photosphere) into Matlab, the luminance readout was wrong. I guess this is because the header will be absorbed while reading in. My question is: Is there any method to control the header in Matlab? (header problem may also exists in the ‘hdrwrite’ command).

By the way, the ‘evalglare’ command is compatible with the lens with angle of view less than 180° , right?

And it is possible to build an integrated Matlab script to control the whole process from calibrating to glare evaluation. right?

Apologize for my poor english!

I am no Matlab expert, and didn’t realize that the hdrread() function didn’t handle the EXPOSURE= line(s) properly in the header. This may be overcome by passing the HDR file through “ra_xyze -r -o” first.

Regarding the fisheye view for evalglare, if you have less than 180 degrees in your view, then there is no way to accurately compute the vertical illuminance, so the estimates may be slightly in error even if the image is accepted. You will probably get a warning message about that from evalglare.

If you can “shell out” commands from Matlab, then you can do anything you like with Radiance. I am not sure why you would do that, but I suppose you have your reasons.

Thank you Greg Ward, It helps me a lot. !!
In fact besides the glare, I want to calculate the other visual comfort parameters such as local contrast, so I suppose to integrated hdr process in Matlab.

For the accuracy, I know the vertical lumianance so an external illuminance meter will help me to complete the process.

======