Ies light, opening shape problem

Dear all, thanks for the amazing tool.
I’m new to radiance.

I m trying to simulate artificial light from ies file.(using ies2rad, oconv, rpict, pfilt)
Also trying to visualize Luminaire curve and opening shape to check the simulation result.

1.The parameter of ies file shows cubic opening shape, however the simulation result seems it has plane opening.

2.Is there any good reference for visualize Luminaire curve?
I am mimicking the code of horneybee(Grasshopper(CAD software Rhinoceros’s plugin) 's plugin to run radiance), but still unsure about many things.

thanks
Akito

Welcome, Akito.

I am sorry there has been no response to your query. I’m not sure how to respond, myself.

In answer to your first question, the ies2rad program optimizes its geometry output based on emitting surfaces. If the IES file says the luminaire is to be approximated as a box, but only one side has non-zero output, the other 5 faces of the box will be left off. I assume this matches your example. If the box is very thin, the 4 sides may be left off even if there is a full output distribution.

As to visualizing the candela distribution, you can put the luminaire at the center of a diffuse sphere and visualize it as a false color fisheye projection. The sphere would be:

void plastic diffuse_white
5 1 1 1 0 0

diffuse_white sphere luminaire_test
4 0 0 0 1000

And you would put this together with your ies2rad output and render using:

rpict -ab 0 -x 1024 -y 1024 -vta -vp 0 0 0 -vo 900 -vd 0 0 -1 -vu 0 1 0 -vh 360 -vv 360 lum.oct > lum.hdr

The center of the view will be looking straight down, with “up” corresponding to the Y-axis. (You can choose a different axis using the -vu vector.) To visualize the output, I recommend using falsecolor:

falsecolor -s auto -lw 0 -cl -i lum.hdr | ra_bmp > lum_fc.bmp