How ies2rad converts the geometry of luminaire

Hi everyone,

I am new to Radiance and when I exercise the ies2rad command, I am confused about geometry in .rad file generated by ies2rad.

The description of ies2rad in man1all.pdf shows that:
“The light source geometry will always be centered at the origin aimed in the negative Z direction, with the 0 degree plane along the X axis. (Note, this means that the IES “width” is actually along the Y axis, while “length” corresponds to the X axis.)”

In my ies file, it shows as follows and means that the length is 1.268, width is 0.158 and height is 0.050.

TILT=NONE
1 4874 1.0 73 37 1 2 1.268 0.158 0.050
‘’’

So, according to the description of ies2rad, for the geometry of the luminaire, the x=1.268, y=0.158 and z=0.05. But in the geometry in .rad file generated by ies2rad, it shows as follows which means that x=0.158, y=1.268 and z=0.050. This makes me confused. Am I getting it right?

‘void’ brightdata ‘erco_dist’
5 boxcorr ‘erco.dat’ source.cal src_phi4 src_theta
4 1 0.158 1.268 0.05

Cheers,

Hao

Going by the code in ray/src/ies2rad.c, we assume the dimensions in the IES file are given in the order “width, length, height” and this comports with the output and explanation in the ies2rad man page. Perhaps @R_Fritz can confirm, as he’s more up-to-date on this format.

-Greg

1 Like

Hi Greg,

Thanks a lot for your assistance.

With your suggestion, I read the ies2rad.c file. Because of my poor knowledge of Linux, I am still confused. Hope @R_Fritz could have time to confirm this.

Cheers,

Hao

Unfortunately, the IES LM-63 file format is written up in a document that isn’t free, so I can’t point you to the standard and it’s pretty obscure anyway, but Greg is correct; the order in the IES LM-63 file format is width, length, height. In the type C coordinate system that your IES file uses width is mapped to x, length is mapped to y, and height, of course, is mapped to z.