genBSDF.pl - Is this how to run?

Hello,

I’m pretty new to the type of Radiance workflow that involves generating BSDF files. Previously, I’ve ran Radiance within Rhino/Grasshopper for shade analysis. My organization has some precedent project files available and I have read the “genBSDF Tutorial” document. Just want to check with the experts here that I’m on the right track.

The goal is to import a fritted IGU consisting of 2 laminates and an air gap into a Rhino/Grasshopper script to run glare analysis. As I understand, the steps are as follow:

1. Build the 2 laminates in Optics
  2. Write 2 *.rad files describing the solar and visible properties of the frit
  3. Run genBSDF to combine these 2 *.rad files into a single *.xml file
  4. Edit the *.xml file to add other properties if necessary
  5. Construct the glazing system in WINDOW with the 2 laminates and the frit *.xml as a shade
  6. Import the WINDOW-generated BSDF *.xml into the Grasshopper script as a RADMaterial
  7. This Script then uses the standard Honeybee Radiance components to run simulations

Focusing on Step #3 - I have at my disposal the “genBSDF.pl” script, as well as something called “genBSDFscript.BAT”. As I’m not proficient in any programming language or much experience working in command lines, I’m pretty much wading in the dark here.

My understanding is that “genBSDF.pl” seems to be THE official script to run to generate BSDFs from *.rad files. I’ve installed Strawberry Perl in order to run “genBSDF.pl” and saved the 2 frit *.rad files along with “genBSDF.pl” in the same folder. I then ran “genBSDF.pl” in PowerShell and 2 *.xml files are generated - but they are both empty. I also tried running a program called “genBSDFscript.BAT” which seems to do the same thing as “genBSDF.pl”. But the output *.xml files are 0kb again.