Hello all,

I'm a student in Civil Engineering and I use RADIANCE to make daylight
analysis in buildings.

First I did *rtrace* simulations for "point in time" analysis with a basic
set of parameter that DAYSIM uses.

After I wanted to do Climate Based simulations with the matrix method of
Daylight Coefficients. So I used *rfluxmtx.*

I'm wondering why I need to use a different set of parameters for this two
kind of simulations, especially for -ad and -lw.

I also noticed that rfluxmtx is much faster than rtrace (even with Reinhart
sky subdivision -m4) but I do not understand why.

Is there a difference in these two algorithms of calculation? Or maybe it's
my fault?

Antoine

Hi Antoine,

it is always difficult to give a general answer when it comes to Radiance, since everything depends on the parameters you chose. Still I'll try to give some hints.

First I did /rtrace/ simulations for "point in time" analysis with a basic set of parameter that DAYSIM uses.

It would be good if you note down at least all parameters starting with -a. These control the indirect-diffuse calculation, which takes most of your rendering times. So you should look out for -ab (number of ambient "bounces"), -ad (number of directions that are sampled at each bounce), -aa and -ar (defining at which points the illuminance on the surfaces will be computed, otherwise a quick interpolation happens in the ambient cache).

After I wanted to do Climate Based simulations with the matrix method of Daylight Coefficients. So I used /rfluxmtx./
I'm wondering why I need to use a different set of parameters for this two kind of simulations, especially for -ad and -lw.