DGP measured significantly lower by evalglare

hello everyone!
I am a college student who wants to use evalglare to measure DGP.
I want to measure the DGP value by taking a picture through the Raspberry Pi camera and converting it to HDR image, but it is measuring significantly low. I’m new to evalglare and don’t know a lot about it. Please help me
The code used this
‘evalglare -c checkfile.pic -vta -vv 220 -vh 220 -d image.hdr > glrfile.txt’

Hi @JUNYOUNG,

Welcome to the Radiance forum.

It does not appear that you have calibrated the brightness of your image correctly. The brightest pixel of your image appears to have a radiance of 1 W/m^2/sr, or 179 cd/m^2. You need to calibrate your camera by measuring the actual brightness of some portion of the image, and then multiplying the values of your image by a correction factor to scale them up. You could build this correction factor into the response curve of your camera, assuming you have calculated it with hdrgen or something similar.

Additionally, I notice that the aspect ratio of your image is not correct. While the portion of the scene viewable through the fisheye lens should be a circle, it is in fact an ellipse. You will need to change the way you crop your photograph to correct this.

Hi @Nathaniel_Jones!
Thank you for your welcome.
I haven’t used evalglare, so I don’t know how it multiplies the image values by the correction factor. Do you happen to have any documentation or posts that talk about multiplying by the correction factor? What I want to do is measure glare from the sun.
Thanks!

Hi @JUNYOUNG,

Evalglare will not do the multiplication for you. You need to make that correction yourself when you create the HDR image. How did you create image.hdr? Something about your process is not correct.

Also, with respect to your evalglare command, you are using -vv 220 -vh 220, which doesn’t seem to match up with what is in image.hdr. How did you arrive at these numbers?

Hi @Nathaniel_Jones !