Daylight form more than 1 direction fails

Hello all,

I am kind of new to Radiance, working with it for 2 months now, i am encountering the following problem:

I am calculating daylightfactor (DF) for rooms with the following steps:

• Creating the Radiance Geometry is done, checked it with the Rad Viewer
  • All Geometry has the right material, checked it with the Rad Viewer
  • Creating a Uniform Overcast Sky of 10.000 lx.
  • Creating all calculationpoints en run Rtrace.exe to ghet results

problem description
Making the actual calculation for all points in the Room works Great, but only when the Windows/openings are at 1 side of the Room, when creating 2 openings at different sides (lets say North and South) the daylight only enters the Room from 1 side.
Even when the geometry has no Glass but only openings.

These setting I use for Rtrace.exe: -w -h -I+ -ab 5 -oov -aa 0.1 -ad 1024 -as 64 -ar 16

Anyone familiar with this problem and have a solution?

thanks in advance.

Chris Hanschen
LKSVDD architecten
The Netherlands

Dear Chris, my first suspect here would be the sky (given that you checked that the windows are transparent as expected). Can you share how you generate it?
Best, Lars.

Hello Lars,

Thanks for your response.

This is the sky I use, it should be a standard overcast sky with 10.000 lm:

void brightfunc skyfunc
2 skybr skybright.cal
3 2 2.29e+01 3.56e+00

skyfunc glow skyglow
.85 1.04 1.2 0

skyglow source sky
0 0 1 180

skyfunc glow groundglow
.8 1.1 .8 0

groundglow source ground
0 0 -1 180

can you see something wrong? or a better definition for a standard overcast sky with 10.000 lm?

Thanks,

Chris Hanschen
LKSVDD architecten
The Netherlands

What gensky command did you use with this sky? Are you sure the “up” direction in your model is +Z, and not +Y (as it is in some modelers)?

Welcome to the forum, by the way!
-Greg

I used Sky and Sky material from Radiance tutorial, I think it as this command:

gensky 11 21 12:00 -a 51 -o 0 -m 0 -c