Cannot build Radiance 4.1a on Windows XP SP2 - beginner

Hi,

This is the first open source project that I am attempting to build. I am new to Python development and a hobby user of C and C++.

I've used a post from Randolph Fritz, http://www.radiance-online.org/pipermail/radiance-dev/2011-February/001109.html , to download latest HEAD files.
I've downloaded Auxiliary library files from http://www.radiance-online.org/software/non-cvs/rad4R1supp.tar.gz

All the files were downloaded on 2011-01-18.

I've downloaded Radiance binaries from http://www.bozzograo.net/radiance/index.php?module=Downloads&func=display&lid=22 , but the fact that the disclaimer states that some "useful programs" are not available, deters me, as a complete Radiance beginner, to consider that binary.

I've tried several different approaches and I am stumped as to what the problem could be.

1. The following error appears:
C:\Ray\ray>scons
scons: Reading SConscript files ...
Detected platform "win32" (nt).
Reading configuration "platform\mingw.cfg"
TypeError: sequence item 0: expected string, function found:
File "C:\Ray\ray\SConstruct", line 57:
load_plat.load_plat(env, ARGUMENTS, platform=None)
File "C:\Ray\ray\build_utils\load_plat.py", line 78:
read_plat(env, args, pfn)
File "C:\Ray\ray\build_utils\load_plat.py", line 12:
cfig.read(fn)
File "C:\Python27\lib\ConfigParser.py", line 297:
self._read(fp, filename)
File "C:\Python27\lib\ConfigParser.py", line 546:
options[name] = '\n'.join(val)

C:\\Ray\\ray>

Where C:\Ray is where I've download the HEAD files

2. I've tried to debug this program but with my limited knowledge of Python, I cannot get the line cfig.read(fn) in load_plat.py

to read the mingw.cfg file.

I've ran

print os\.path\.isfile\(fn\) \#the file exists
print os\.path\.realpath\(fn\) \#Returns this correctly: C:\\Ray\\ray\\platform\\mingw\.cfg

before cfig.read(fn) and both output expected result