no response

Hi all again, i've got no answers to my questions, and i am wondering if i am doing something wrong.
can i make a wxwindows version of radiance? can it be comercial? is radiance open source? do you see something bad?

please answer me, i'm a bit disapointed, probably radiance is the most amazing program i've ever seen, and i'm greg's fan.

please, If i'm disturbing anybody i would like to know it

Ignacio Munárriz wrote:

Hi all again, i've got no answers to my questions, and i am wondering if i am doing something wrong.
can i make a wxwindows version of radiance?

Sure. A nicer GUI would be good. And the non-X11 (Windows and OS/X) users would probably like a native replacement for rview/rvu.

can it be comercial? is radiance open source? do you see something bad?

The license (http://radsite.lbl.gov/radiance/misc/license.txt) appears to be something like the BSD license. I'm not a lawyer though, and don't even play one on TV. But it looks like you can take the source code and do pretty much anything you want, just keep a little copyright notice somewhere.

One thing to remember is that reputation is everything in the Open Source world. Act like a jerk and people here won't help you. But play nice (like say, adding value and providing an actual service) and so will everyone else. Basically don't leach off of the free developers. And giving something back to the community is always good for relations.

please answer me, i'm a bit disapointed, probably radiance is the most amazing program i've ever seen, and i'm greg's fan.

Me too! :slight_smile:

bye

Hi Ignacio,

Sorry for the lack of response, but the dev list is often pretty quiet compared to radiance-general. Your questions are appropriate to this list, though, so we should probably keep this discussion here for now.