New installation

Hi everyone;
I'm new to this mailing list and new to Radiance.
I'm an architect in Chicago, Il and I'm running ARRIS ( an architectural CAD program ) on a Sun Microsystems Ultra-45 and Solaris 10. I have to say that it runs extremely well. I now have the capability to do 3D modelling the way I always wanted to. And now I want to render my models on the SUN. It is difficult to find rendering software to run on this platform ( other than Blender) And sometimes it's difficult to install. That's where I am with Radiance. I'm having difficulty installing Radiance on the Sun. Can you help me out? I've downloaded the files, unzipped them and tried to run "makeall" as it described in the "Readme" file. But it will not run. I've tried just 'clicking' on the icon, (nothing), I've tried opening a shell and command-line, (nothing), I've tried both ways as 'user' and 'root' (nothing). What am I missing?
Please send help
Bill Rock

On 11/01/08, 15:38:04, wjr wrote regarding
[Radiance-general] New installation :

Hello Bill,

I'm an architect in Chicago, Il and I'm running ARRIS ( an
architectural CAD program ) on a Sun Microsystems Ultra-45 and
Solaris 10. I have to say that it runs extremely well. I now have
the capability to do 3D modelling the way I always wanted to. And
now I want to render my models on the SUN. It is difficult to find
rendering software to run on this platform ( other than Blender)
And sometimes it's difficult to install. That's where I am with
Radiance. I'm having difficulty installing Radiance on the Sun.
Can you help me out? I've downloaded the files, unzipped them and
tried to run "makeall" as it described in the "Readme" file. But it
will not run. I've tried just 'clicking' on the icon, (nothing),
I've tried opening a shell and command-line, (nothing), I've tried
both ways as 'user' and 'root' (nothing). What am I missing?

http://www.blastwave.org/packages.php/radiance

James.