I'd like to create a branch for the project

...but I'm not really sure where to start!

Hello all, it's nice to meet you. I'm 21, from England, and I like to code. I'm studying Computer Science at University, which I would like to take into a career of graphical programming. But I think now's the time to start working on my CV, and getting to grips with programming projects like those I would like to work on out of college, because I guess I ought to develop myself as a programmer (& I enjoy it!).

The situation that I'm in is that I'd like to start some branch of project work that I can independently work on, but I really don't know where to begin, or what contribution you would need....my scope of ambition isn't that huge - I'm basically looking for something useful that I could produce for this project, written in c/c++ (but I'm flexible), that an intermediate level programmer could accomplish.

I have attempted contribution to such projects before, but am often presented with a situation where I'm coming into the project as a newcomer, and I'm directed to a hoard of code (tens of megabytes), and it's not that useful. But I'd really like to create/work on little useful branch I could do for this application. By that I mean, I envision a project that (hopefully!) implements some useful algorithm(s), that I can actually research and turn into code myself (even if it's just as a starter, that could lead to more), but I'm not really sure what the project needs, or where I should start looking. I'd really appreciate it if someone could give me some guidance on this - I know a little about stuff like Bezier curves, Matlab, Markov models, and the kind of stuff that undergraduates know about. But I'm willing to do more, and put quite a bit of time into it.

Anyway, thanks for any guidance you can give me,

I just re-read it, and it sounds a bit desperate, but, it's sincere.

Mayur

Hello Mayur,