Energy Consumption Monitoring

Hello Radiance forum,

I hope you are all doing great. This is my first time trying to use Radiance and wanted to ask for some advice.
I am trying to implement daylight harvesting in a room, with some certain number of dimmable LEDs and monitor the energy consumption throughout a month or 2.

1- Is Radiance already equipped with Energy Consumption adds on? or if not has anyone ever done it or you thing it would be possible.
2- What is the best wrapper I can use to get the most out of this software?
3- Is interfacing Radiance possible with other software for example MATLAB or would it be easier for me to just try to write my control algorithm in Radiance?

Thank you very much for your help in advance.
Best,
Behy

Hi Behy,
The suite of command tools in Radiance can output rendered images, or data that can be formatted and manipulated through any type of scripting or programming that you might be comfortable with. It would definitely be possible to output calculated values from Radiance into data files and read that data into MATLAB for further manipulation and assessment. The best wrapper or programming mechanism for your control algorithm is probably whatever techniques you’re most comfortable with.